Jealousy-Love

Love entangles us all in this web of jealousy sometimes that I can’t help think that perhaps this is one of the elements of love. How to build trust in essence is how to get over this vice quick enough that we get on with the business of love. At least that’s what I arrived at tonight. It exists, this emotion- this vice, whatever it is, jealousy is much a part of who we are. Only those who are refined and secured at best can escape this feeling, but I’m at the bottom of the pole when it comes to love and there are plenty of things that I need to learn still. The construct of this poem… it’s just a play on jealousy.

why not this jealousy
plucked from me instead
of love? this behemoth
inside that wants to revel
in the night for all nudity
to see the transparency
and the want, the not-
love disguised as love
inside your palm
where you have me
consume time and time
again how much power
you have over me to
taunt and tease between
spaces of want and
not want, in thought
and memory to commit
and destroy at the
same time; the frolicsome
desire to attach to
anybody but myself
infuriates my jealousy
even more and knowing
so inflates my heart with
hope that while I’m breaking–
you’ll want me even more

-mr gahon 12/13/14

About mr gahon

poet... writer... culinarian... i like to work with food that appeals to the senses, write words that taste even better View all posts by mr gahon

Leave a Reply

