Love Gone Awry

I don’t have the words… why would I? I can only stand by with compassion, sympathize. Because there are no proper words for heartbreak. There are no words for love going awry. And if one were to ask me the reasons, I don’t think I have answers because even though love can be all embracing, it can also be blind. There are many metaphors that could spell out how love can suddenly take its turn for the worst, but nothing can ever take the place of pain that someone may feel. Because there is always some sort of hurt, some sort of breaking occurring on the other side, in these words, I can only encourage healing with strength.

am I completely shadow?
blackened and burned,
indistinguishable from
this hearty flame suspect
(you started)?
am I no longer to feel
as you have crumpled and
thrown this heart to
shame in this fetid basket?
do you not see? do you
not feel how much this
heart stands, beckons
the blood in you come
forth and extinguish
yourself this very fire
you ignited; blow off
the flicker from this
candle for in this light–
I no longer wish
to see you

-mr gahon 12/7/14

About mr gahon

poet... writer... culinarian... i like to work with food that appeals to the senses, write words that taste even better View all posts by mr gahon

Leave a Reply

