Maya Angelou

A love for the world, confidence and whose spirit delights. The thought of her words, the image of her kind face impresses in my mind a mother, a mother among poets. She was one of the first poets for me whose words really spoke, lingered and reverberated deep inside, finding me past the soul to feed my inner light. The words of Maya Angelou, that’s how I felt about her. A beloved mother… a beloved mother among poets who made words sing and soar at the same time. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. In your words, in your life, I find courage to be… I am.

where I may not
this poet be
whose words hardly
lasting as any
scribbled on this
paper in an endless
stutter, mumbled;
whose heavy accent
distorts each syllable
that I only begin to
understand my own
decline from this poetry,
bow out, forever
extinguish the dream…
until you I rose as
you commanded ’til
the end with the
composition of your
smile, the metaphor
of your life(I am
no longer afraid to
mimic, at last)

-mr gahon 5/28/14

About mr gahon

poet... writer... culinarian... i like to work with food that appeals to the senses, write words that taste even better View all posts by mr gahon

Leave a Reply

