Used

What use do we have if not used? I sometimes think about this, the idea of being used. How sometimes we are just pawns? And as much as we want to protect that part of us that lies vulnerable, we often play into it because we trust. We learn to trust, we learn to love, we take that chance and go forward. And however it may turn out to be, good or bad, it’s still a lesson. All we can do is learn… learn to make that love even stronger regardless of the pull, regardless the chances we might be left used and broken. It will be alright.

for tomorrow won’t bring
yesterday’s flowers or
return the symbolism,
the forsaken metaphors;
and I don’t think I could
go back to having you say,
this is it, these are the
final terms. for this love
is not a used car parked
on a lot somewhere… my heart’s
condition is non-negotiable.
I won’t shake on it or
sign the papers; it isn’t a
document for lawyers to read
over. I thought I’d been
wise to surrender the core
of me, what’s left outside
my pride and integrity, but
even spilled ink is hard to
recover upon a trusting heart:
once smeared, it is smeared
forever…

-mr gahon 4/18/14

About mr gahon

poet... writer... culinarian... i like to work with food that appeals to the senses, write words that taste even better View all posts by mr gahon

Leave a Reply

