All I Want

All I want… is you. There’s a song, a song that plays in my head. I see you in the hallways, down the street from where I walk. Everywhere that I am… in my waking hour, the thought persists and it is you. Tirelessly, I look for you, turn every rock, turn every corner, all the places that I have been led to, pray over to listen for just one sound, a single note to let me know that you are close, near if possible.

even when you are far
the notes to these ocean tides
still sound as though you’re
whispering at night…
when no one else is listening;
you and I cohabit this
mute colony
and we are both conqueror
and subject at the same time
wavering in a kiss,
hesitant in this embrace,
unwilling to yield even
when we have succumbed
this close to one another
that I’ve nothing more to hide,
not my thoughts nor a
single breath held inside–
you have appropriated me
with one look enough
to diminish my senses;
that you alone render me
obsolete against all causes
that I become deliberately
ineffective, useless
in this battle
to reel you closer
to my heart

-mr gahon 2/15/14

About mr gahon

poet... writer... culinarian... i like to work with food that appeals to the senses, write words that taste even better View all posts by mr gahon

Leave a Reply

