Beauty

Have you ever seen beauty from within? Caught off-guard by it that it seizes you in the moment and all you can do is sit tight and be a witness to it. It’s kind of like a hummingbird coming to hover from out of nowhere. Or catching that single white egret that’s come to migrate once a year and you wonder at once, upon encountering the bird, whether it is something more spiritual because you are the only one seeing it, you’re the one who this bird chose to reveal itself to. So you don’t move, not for a second for fear it might fly away. Catching one’s beauty, that which radiates from within, is somewhat of an egret surfacing. So rare is that one brilliant moment of loveliness that unfolds before my eyes that, in a case like this, I couldn’t help but write something about it.

to touch you as though like
sun… I recoil, conflicted
by heat and passion emitted
by the fire inside
your eyes drawing me
to windows (I should
not be looking into)
though I wish for each look from
your direction to covet me,
stun me to greatness
and uncover me from
this stretch of darkness,
this deep spell of oblivion:
unloved and aching
so hard for tongues swallowed,
be lost at once inside your mouth
and search for what word I can
find in long drawn out kisses
that articulate how much
more of a world I have
to travel in, around and
down your throat to taste
how sweet kindness is
inside you all along

-mr gahon 11/7/13

About mr gahon

poet... writer... culinarian... i like to work with food that appeals to the senses, write words that taste even better View all posts by mr gahon

Leave a Reply

