Choices

When the thought of someone is so far gone from our reach, only once in a while are we graced with a memory of what could have been. In this case, the formulation of a thought that one never knows how it would be written or how it would end manifests. I think back to a time when it was all so present, the nearness of you. How skies seem closer within my reach. And now we walk opposite paths, moving toward different directions than we once thought we would walk together. Only now, my memory recalls and only with a slight tint of regret, I write proudly these verses….

Truth is, I did not choose well
between decisions and choices
I cannot make up my mind
between the two;
only I really really like blue
and none before the sky resemble
its subtle hue
that I correlate with you
however parallel or perpendicular
these lines will ever seem
I still do recall
letting you go
and setting all butterflies
away from these pollen
that each flower think
it hard to multiply
now that you are nowhere,
now that you are gone

-mr gahon 8/26/13

About mr gahon

poet... writer... culinarian... i like to work with food that appeals to the senses, write words that taste even better View all posts by mr gahon

Leave a Reply

