Voice

Voice. It begins with sound that reverberates love. Angelic and desirous and, yet, always in conflict, sometimes unbearable. Voice whose tone is often kind, never condescending. The sound of your thoughts feel idyllic as though music entwined in a space like its own double helix. I find it hard to believe that I have survived this day without discerning just a glimpse of a word, a brief utterance, a short whisper of what this world might be like from your point of view. The day isn’t over yet and, still, I listen for you–listen for how love echoes from inside you.

a place in your voice remind me where
birds soar over waters which alludes
of paradise. I briefly forget music
when all words cascade from your
conversation and quietly invite me
so as not to withdraw(as I easily could
amidst the absence of thought or
acknowledgement); for just one breath of sound,
I am reminded quite vividly the color of
grass and trees and leafy vegetables–
all inspire and enliven my senses once
I return to the sound of your voice
whose tone and pitch direct me home
towards a light cast upon love

-mr gahon 8/8/13

About mr gahon

poet... writer... culinarian... i like to work with food that appeals to the senses, write words that taste even better View all posts by mr gahon

Leave a Reply

