Love of Poetry

The love of a love poem; love inside a love poem. The hunger for metaphor. The emergence of words from somewhere we rarely expect to produce a single rhyme. To give silence a chance, often the unexpected crevice where words crawl out onto the blank space and gently draw the heart’s outlines. It is up to us to nurture this, give poetry a chance.

Even if we aren’t–
from the eyes of
imagination I have imbibed
what I came in silence for…
to dwell in your beauty;
this heat that surrounds me
leans against my shoulder(as
though in a cramped space
without room) and
disrupts me midair. The
love inside
erupts from me
even if these are just
sullen, silly words, I
still want you to invite me,
entice me into your world–
the temples, the churches
to kneel, worship you
inside your eyes

-mr gahon 7/6/13

About mr gahon

poet... writer... culinarian... i like to work with food that appeals to the senses, write words that taste even better View all posts by mr gahon

Leave a Reply

