Love Reign Down

Hardly a whisper, I am curious. I am curious about rains. Slippery downpours enough to turn trucks over and spin cars into a troublesome menace for just one morning, one day. When we have become oblivious to rains and in many ways I am still affected, made vulnerable by the helplessness brought upon me by the rains. Rains that have traveled the world more so than I have and blessed many a love I haven’t come close to touch, sniff or glance at yet. All I can do is pray for more rains to instigate that one umbrella to open with enough room for me to take shelter in from the water unraveling… love reign/rain down upon me.

how much more if any
could I write
one word, two words,
three
before the wind chimes
and I glimpse your smile
so sound as this quiet–
this longed-for solitude
almost like paradise

I imagine
the cold that whispers
behind my ears, the suggestion
of how much more I can
write if I concentrated
on your eyes…
what delight to this world,
(but would it be enough)
to convince rain to
detach from the clouds
and scatter upon this drought
that my heart mistakes for love,
confuses for desire,
for the sake of yearning–
(if it would be enough)
let this rain baptize
you and I together
at this moment
in this life(time)

-mr gahon 3/2/14

About mr gahon

poet... writer... culinarian... i like to work with food that appeals to the senses, write words that taste even better View all posts by mr gahon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

